Do I need to uninstall SyncBackFree/LIte/SE before installing an advanced version of SyncBackLite/SE/Pro? For example, moving from SyncBackSE to SyncBackPro.

There is no need to uninstall previous versions of SyncBackFree/Lite/SE before installing an advanced/enhanced version of SyncBackLite/SE/Pro respectively. All profiles from a lower "tier" SyncBackFree/Lite/SE will be scanned and imported automatically when SyncBackLite/SE/Pro is first run. There are also options to do so manually (as appropriate) on the Profiles menu. So for example, SyncBackPro will have the feature to scan and import profiles from SyncBackFree/Lite/SE.

After importing your profiles, you can safely uninstall the previous SyncBack program you upgraded from without affecting your new "upgraded" SyncBack installation.


SyncBackPro/SE/Lite/Free can all be installed on the same machine. For example, if you wish to trial SyncBackPro, and are already using SyncBackSE, then you could install SyncBackPro, trial it, and then later uninstall it without it affecting your SyncBackSE installation.


Notes regarding automated profile imports:

- such imports only work from 'lower' to 'higher' versions of SyncBack, and not the converse.


- automated profile imports will not include the Schedules, to avoid multiple-triggering of profiles of the same name, at the same time, in two or more versions of SyncBack. This is highly likely to cause conflicts/errors. If you want to switch your Scheduled profiles over, you need to delete the Schedules from the version where they were created and re-create them from the version where you want them.