Dropbox V1 (legacy) profiles will stop working on the 28th September 2017.


If you are using profiles that are using the old Dropbox API then you should convert them to use the new Dropbox API.


SyncBackPro V8

To convert your Dropbox profiles:  

  • Run the profile to make sure all changed files are copied etc. to or from the cloud.
  • Make a copy of the profile (select the profile in the main window and press Ctrl-C, or right-click on the profile and select Copy from the pop-up menu) and give the copy a new name, e.g. New Cloud Backup Profile
  • Modify your original profile, go to the Cloud settings page and click the Delete DB button.
  • You will then be prompted to ask if you would like to switch from the old cloud API. Click Yes.
  • After the cloud database has been deleted, if you already have a linked cloud account for the new cloud service then you will be prompted if you would like to use that account. If you do not have a linked account then you must re-authorize SyncBackPro with the cloud service.
  • Save the profile and run it attended (it is critical it is run attended and not unattended). To do this, select the profile in the main window and press Ctrl-R.
  • When the Differences window appears you need to change the Action for all the files to Use details from Source (or whatever your source is called) then let the profile continue. Note that you can choose all files by pressing Ctrl-A or you can do multiple selections using the Ctrl and Shift keys with mouse clicks. To change the Action for your selected files, right-click on the selection and choose the action from the pop-up menu.


If there are no problems you can delete the copy of the profile.


SyncBackPro V7

If you are using SyncBackPro V7.6.74.0 (or earlier) then first update to V7.7.0.0 or newer.


To convert your Dropbox profiles:

  • Run the profile to make sure all changed files are copied etc. to or from the cloud.
  • Make a copy of the profile (select the profile in the main window and press Ctrl-C, or right-click on the profile and select Copy from the pop-up menu) and give the copy a new name, e.g. New Cloud Backup Profile
  • Modify your original profile, go to the Cloud settings page and click the Delete DB button.
  • You will then be prompted to ask if you would like to switch from the old cloud API. Click Yes.
  • After the cloud database has been deleted you must re-authorize SyncBackPro with the cloud service.
  • Save the profile and run it attended (it is critical it is run attended and not unattended). To do this, select the profile in the main window and press Ctrl-R.
  • When the Differences window appears you need to change the Action for all the files to Use details from Source (or whatever your source is called) then let the profile continue. Note that you can choose all files by pressing Ctrl-A or you can do multiple selections using the Ctrl and Shift keys with mouse clicks. To change the Action for your selected files, right-click on the selection and choose the action from the pop-up menu.


If there are no problems you can delete the copy of the profile.