SyncBack V7 (and newer versions)

To copy file and folder security permissions: modify your profile, enable Expert mode (via the Click For Options button), go to Copy/Delete -> Folders settings page, and tick the 'Copy sub-directory and file security permissions' option. You can then select what security settings to copy.


File & folder permissions will be copied when the file or folder itself is copied. If you also want the file security to be copied if it changes (but not the file itself), and also copy changes to folder security, then go to the Compare Options->Security settings page and tick the 'Compare file and folder security' option. You must then decide which side's security takes precedence. Do this by going to the Decisions - Files and Decisions - Folders settings pages and choose what to do when the properties of a file or folder change.

SyncBack V6

To copy file and folder security permissions: modify your profile, enable Expert mode (via the Click For Options button), go to Copy/Delete -> Folders settings page, and tick the ‘Copy sub-directory and file security permissions’ option.

Note that file & folder permissions are only copied when the file or folder itself is copied. This means, for example, if only the security permissions change, but not the file itself, then the permissions are not copied across (because the file itself was not copied).