In SyncBackSE and SyncBackPro you can configure your profile to record in the log file the reason why a file or folder was skipped: modify your profile, enable Expert mode (via the Click For Options button), go to the Log settings page, and tick the “Log the reason why...“ checkboxes.

Files are skipped based on the profiles settings. The most common reasons why a file is skipped are:

  • A setting on the Decision-Files settings page specifies that in certain situations a file should be skipped (when using Sync there may be many situations where you want a file to be skipped. For a Backup profile the file is skipped if it is only on the destination)
  • The files are inside a junction/reparse point and on the Compare Options > Attributes settings page the option 'Ignore NTFS junction points (reparse points)' is ticked (which is the default)
  • The file to be replaced is newer and on the Compare Options > Date & Time settings page the option ‘Do not replace newer files with older files‘ is ticked
  • The file to be replaced is read-only and on the Compare Options > Attributes settings page the option ‘Do not overwrite read-only files (ignored when file to be replaced is on an FTP server)‘ is ticked
  • The file to be deleted is read-only and on the Compare Options > Attributes settings page the option ‘Do not delete read-only files (ignored when file to be deleted is on an FTP server)‘ is ticked
  • The file to be copied is read-only and on the Compare Options > Attributes settings page the option ‘Do not copy read-only files‘ is ticked
  • The file to be copied does not have the archive attribute set and on the Compare Options > Attributes settings page the option ‘Only copy files that do have the archive attributes set‘ is ticked


There are other reasons why a file may be skipped, e.g. you were prompted on what action to take with a file and responded that the file should be skipped.